Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

8 Pages V « < 6 7 8  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Skyrim CK Experimenting, Post Your CK Fun Here:
Acadian
post Dec 17 2015, 09:23 PM
Post #141


Paladin
Group Icon
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Las Vegas



Grits, I read to Buffy how well the stone has worked out for Jerric. Her reaction?

IPB Image

wub.gif


--------------------
Screenshot: Buffy in Artaeum
Stop by our sub forum!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Renee
post Dec 18 2015, 12:47 AM
Post #142


Councilor
Group Icon
Joined: 19-March 13
From: Ellicott City, Maryland



That is a pretty neat idea; a magic stone which recharges its own magicka.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mALX
post Dec 23 2015, 08:00 AM
Post #143


Ancient
Group Icon
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Cyrodiil, the Wastelands, and BFE TN



QUOTE(Acadian @ Dec 17 2015, 03:23 PM) *

Grits, I read to Buffy how well the stone has worked out for Jerric. Her reaction?

IPB Image

wub.gif



GAAAAAAH, you made a mod and didn't tell me? Awesome!!! What other mods have you kept secret? laugh.gif




--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Acadian
post Dec 23 2015, 01:59 PM
Post #144


Paladin
Group Icon
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Las Vegas



No no. I just came up the the idea to support the letter Buffy sent gifting Jerric with a (pretend) stone as described and quoted by Grits. It was Grits who applied her magicks to the CK and actually brought the stone to life in Jerric's game. smile.gif


--------------------
Screenshot: Buffy in Artaeum
Stop by our sub forum!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mALX
post Dec 23 2015, 02:30 PM
Post #145


Ancient
Group Icon
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Cyrodiil, the Wastelands, and BFE TN



QUOTE(Acadian @ Dec 23 2015, 07:59 AM) *

No no. I just came up the the idea to support the letter Buffy sent gifting Jerric with a (pretend) stone as described and quoted by Grits. It was Grits who applied her magicks to the CK and actually brought the stone to life in Jerric's game. smile.gif



Oh, WHEW! Okay, have to go make all the necessary corrections in my diary...





--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Grits
post Apr 20 2016, 11:43 PM
Post #146


Councilor
Group Icon
Joined: 6-November 10
From: The Gold Coast



Hereís the spell Iím having problems with today: Summon Katria for 120 seconds.

Iíve made it a Conjuration Apprentice level spell so that itís accessible to anyone with the base amount of magicka. Thereís no quest condition or script to add the spell automatically, you just add the spell or tome with the console at the playerís discretion. Summoned Katria is a level 40 new NPC so as not to cause trouble with the real Katria. She is ghostly and has the correct combat style and equipment.

The trouble is that she doesnít speak at all. She is not a follower so she wonít have any follower dialog, but I want her to use the combat taunts that she uses when sheís fighting at the playerís side during the questline. The Summonable Katria uses Katriaís voice type.

Iím over my head if there are checks in the dialog to see if Katria is saying the taunts, the way Marcurio is the only one who will say some of the lines in his voice type.


--------------------
Jerric's Story * Darnandex * Morning Star Screenshot: Cyrodiil Meadow
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SubRosa
post Apr 21 2016, 12:09 AM
Post #147


Ancient
Group Icon
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Between The Worlds



I am not expert on dialog, but I would think that so long as you had her Voice Type set to DLC1LD_FemaleNordUniqueKatria that would be enough.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ghastley
post Apr 21 2016, 03:00 AM
Post #148


Councilor
Group Icon
Joined: 13-December 10



I took a quick look and her Detection dialogue is conditioned on GetIsAliasRef for Alias:Katria but it's curiously shared, even though she's only in one quest.

That means you can use it, but you may have to add a dialog quest if she's not already connected to one. If her alias is Katria in your quest, she may just use it anyway, or else you can copy her topics over to yours.

It's possible to make any existing dialog shared but it's much simpler when that's already the case.


--------------------
Mods for Oblivion and now Daggerfall and Skyrim. Fan fiction, too.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Grits
post Apr 21 2016, 12:00 PM
Post #149


Councilor
Group Icon
Joined: 6-November 10
From: The Gold Coast



Aha, thank you very much! Sounds promising, I need to dig in and learn some new things. Iíve done trainer dialog for some NPCs, but thatís it. Refreshing my memory of that is a good place to start.

I wonder if it is set up as shared because there was a plan to make her summonable at the end of the quests, like Arnielís Shade. Iíve never had a character who completed Arnielís Endeavor, funnily enough. The uesp page says his shade uses zombie dialog, which sounds disappointing.


--------------------
Jerric's Story * Darnandex * Morning Star Screenshot: Cyrodiil Meadow
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SubRosa
post Oct 2 2016, 12:49 AM
Post #150


Ancient
Group Icon
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Between The Worlds



It was a lot of work, but I was able to make the Winterhold Home I made for my grown up Sofie and Lucia's games and make it Hearthfire/adoption compatible. This article details how.

I also had to use the Hearthfire Multiple Adoptions mod, and use the Bless House spell it provides to set the home as my official house. I tried it without the mod, but the game would not give me the option to adopt. My guess is that there is a setting somewhere that tells the game what your house is, and with a modded house that never gets updated.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mALX
post Oct 2 2016, 01:12 AM
Post #151


Ancient
Group Icon
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Cyrodiil, the Wastelands, and BFE TN



QUOTE(SubRosa @ Oct 1 2016, 07:49 PM) *

It was a lot of work, but I was able to make the Winterhold Home I made for my grown up Sofie and Lucia's games and make it Hearthfire/adoption compatible. This article details how.

I also had to use the Hearthfire Multiple Adoptions mod, and use the Bless House spell it provides to set the home as my official house. I tried it without the mod, but the game would not give me the option to adopt. My guess is that there is a setting somewhere that tells the game what your house is, and with a modded house that never gets updated.


Yeah, I used that list as a guideline in making my house mod; but used all vanilla or modded items so someone that didn't have Hearthfire might still be able to use the mod - (actually, at the time I made the mod I didn't have Hearthfire myself so kind of had to, lol). I didn't know about the "setting the house as home" for the adoptions issues till later on, and didn't know how to fix it.

I just really wish they had made cuter children in Skyrim, (like they made for Fallout 3).





This post has been edited by mALX: Oct 2 2016, 01:17 AM


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ghastley
post Oct 2 2016, 02:59 PM
Post #152


Councilor
Group Icon
Joined: 13-December 10



QUOTE(SubRosa @ Oct 1 2016, 07:49 PM) *

My guess is that there is a setting somewhere that tells the game what your house is, and with a modded house that never gets updated.

The problem is that the vanilla DLC method of completing the adoption is connected to the "I have a house in xxx" dialogs, and each of those tests for the Hearthfires or vanilla homes, making it hard to extend. If they'd used a Formlist that could be added to, then it would have been a lot easier.

Hearthfires was definitely not designed for extensibility or mods. There are way too many places where they put in fixed-size lists instead of using formlists, and there's a lot of code that has "If Lakeview ... else if Windstad ..." rather than "if house.InList(xxx)".

They also missed a lot of opportunities for global settings. There could have been a single "PlayerHasHouse" Boolean to control things, but the code usually tests ownership of each known house individually. It's a lot less efficient, and once again, harder to extend. I had to clone a lot of scripts that should have just been re-usable because of this poor style. The flags for site ownerships are held in each house script, so those all have to be properties of anything that wants to test them.


--------------------
Mods for Oblivion and now Daggerfall and Skyrim. Fan fiction, too.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mALX
post Oct 16 2016, 09:24 AM
Post #153


Ancient
Group Icon
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Cyrodiil, the Wastelands, and BFE TN



QUOTE(ghastley @ Oct 2 2016, 09:59 AM) *

QUOTE(SubRosa @ Oct 1 2016, 07:49 PM) *

My guess is that there is a setting somewhere that tells the game what your house is, and with a modded house that never gets updated.

The problem is that the vanilla DLC method of completing the adoption is connected to the "I have a house in xxx" dialogs, and each of those tests for the Hearthfires or vanilla homes, making it hard to extend. If they'd used a Formlist that could be added to, then it would have been a lot easier.

Hearthfires was definitely not designed for extensibility or mods. There are way too many places where they put in fixed-size lists instead of using formlists, and there's a lot of code that has "If Lakeview ... else if Windstad ..." rather than "if house.InList(xxx)".

They also missed a lot of opportunities for global settings. There could have been a single "PlayerHasHouse" Boolean to control things, but the code usually tests ownership of each known house individually. It's a lot less efficient, and once again, harder to extend. I had to clone a lot of scripts that should have just been re-usable because of this poor style. The flags for site ownerships are held in each house script, so those all have to be properties of anything that wants to test them.



Can the scripts be altered by a mod without breaking the DLC? Either adding your house to that list or as you said - simplifying it to point to a list rather than each particular house?

I am kind of reminded of some of the issues with ownership in Oblivion; though I can't remember if it was horses or Inn rental rooms - just remember I had to go to numerous places and add something I made to a list in order for it to work right in the game.



--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ghastley
post Oct 16 2016, 01:29 PM
Post #154


Councilor
Group Icon
Joined: 13-December 10



Yes, it's possible to change the scripts, but then another mod can change them again and wipe your changes out. And I was creating multiple mods, so I'd probably do that to myself.

I had those problems with the Orc Child mod. The various other "extra kids" mods overwrote base files I was using, and so broke mine. I ended up cloning all she uses as uniquely hers.

The only safe things to do are use the vanilla assets unchanged, or supply a completely new one. I've always had issues of some variety when changing a base asset.

Sometimes you have no choice. You may have to replace a skeleton with an enhanced one to get wings on the player, as chargen requires that all playable races use the same one. If you want female Orcs to walk like women, you have to change the race template, etc.



--------------------
Mods for Oblivion and now Daggerfall and Skyrim. Fan fiction, too.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mALX
post Oct 16 2016, 02:12 PM
Post #155


Ancient
Group Icon
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Cyrodiil, the Wastelands, and BFE TN



QUOTE(ghastley @ Oct 16 2016, 08:29 AM) *

Yes, it's possible to change the scripts, but then another mod can change them again and wipe your changes out. And I was creating multiple mods, so I'd probably do that to myself.

I had those problems with the Orc Child mod. The various other "extra kids" mods overwrote base files I was using, and so broke mine. I ended up cloning all she uses as uniquely hers.

The only safe things to do are use the vanilla assets unchanged, or supply a completely new one. I've always had issues of some variety when changing a base asset.

Sometimes you have no choice. You may have to replace a skeleton with an enhanced one to get wings on the player, as chargen requires that all playable races use the same one. If you want female Orcs to walk like women, you have to change the race template, etc.


Oh, I understand. I guess then you would be stuck having to make patches every time another mod overwrote your changes or something?

I really don't enjoy Papyrus at all. I Loved the C++ or whatever Oblivion used, but ... just plain hate Papyrus.



--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ghastley
post Sep 26 2017, 06:44 PM
Post #156


Councilor
Group Icon
Joined: 13-December 10



I've had a number of (XBox1) users of my mods complain about not getting couriers, and I've just had the same problem myself in a game where none of my Hearthfires mods is loaded. The general issue that the couriers just don't appear, so I went looking for an article anywhere that laid out the process, and provided a systematic approach to finding out what went wrong. Of course, there isn't one, so I'll have to do it myself.

---

Most couriers will be using the built-in WICourier quest, which gets started by the ChangeLocation event. The Story Manager will check if there's anything in the mail that needs delivering. If there is, it starts the quest to spawn a courier within range of the player and he seeks you out and delivers.

So the first thing to do was see if the WICourier quest is running. Usually it's not, either because the player didn't trigger the ChangeLocation yet, or it didn't fire when it should. That doesn't tell you anything. But the quest variables include the ID of the "mailbox" container that quests add their letters to, so you can use "showinventory" on that to see what's in the mail. There's also a global WICourierItemCount that will be non-zero if you have pending mail. It's probably worth checking both, as discrepancies between those could be a clue to any problem. The Story Manager start condition checks the count, rather than looking in the container. The actual content provides a clue as to which quest broke something.

There's also a possibility that the courier couldn't catch the player and timed out. That will be apparent from the quest showing a stage of 200 from its last attempt. Usually he spawns on the road ahead of you, and there's no problem, but the devs did allow for the exceptions.

If there's nothing to deliver, then you need to check the quests that should have sent one. You need some details about the quests themselves, as some will have a letter already in the inventory of the sender from the start of the game, and others will create it in a quest fragment right at the point where it's sent. So the presence of the letter's ID in the quest variables doesn't always mean anything. But if it's "NONE", that probably does.

There are settings to enable logging of Script and Story Manager processing. Both are likely to be needed - the script log will show failures in the quest script that adds the letter to the mailbox, and the SM log will show if the courier quest was started when it should have been, and hopefully why not.

And none of this can be done on XBox1, where the SM is easily subverted by one mod failing to pass on the event to other mods.



--------------------
Mods for Oblivion and now Daggerfall and Skyrim. Fan fiction, too.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

8 Pages V « < 6 7 8
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th August 2019 - 03:33 AM