Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Prologue to Oblivion, Char. 2: Derrick
milanius
post Jul 31 2006, 04:33 PM
Post #1

Agent

Like a vain creature I am, I have rushed and made mistakes, I guess... but the truth is, a writer has to be a master of narration and also blessed with rich inner life and imagination to achieve realistic multitude of views and perspectives from several different characters. I must apologise, since I am not that good with pen & paper and not nearly creative enough... but you asked for it. And I apologise for gramatic mistakes & all - this is completely unedited text, unpolished and raw. With all this said, I still hope you'll enjoy it, at least a bit.
Previous parts of this "saga" can be found
HERE

Prologue (Derrick): A prayer for the damned

“True religion is real living; living with all one's soul, with all one's goodness and righteousness.”
[Albert Einstein]

"Akatosh, Arkay, Dibella, Julianos, Kynareth, Mara, Stendarr, Zenithar and our Empire's founder and father, Talos... Beloved Divines, my strength and faith to you. Protect us. Protect him."

This is how my prayers began every single day ever since we left Morrowind. I know I have lived my life with faith and pride. Maybe it is a mistake, to feel pride for things that should be given to others without expectation of reward. Maybe I am still too young and unworthy. Still, I have never seen someone so... undisciplined, so inert and insolent toward authority, so... untrusting. Indeed, that last observation may carry most weight when one is describing the Wanderer. He is so untrusting of anyone's intentions at times that I often wonder how, in the name of Mara's mercy, the Oracle made him agree to come to this journey.