Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Past Controversies?
Chorrol.com > Elder Scrolls Games > Older Games
Uruhara_Kisuke
Hello, I'm new to the Elderscrolls scene, and a casual gamer on the PC front, having grew up on jrpgs mostly.

I'm intrigued by the large controversies, which can be construed as negative hype surrounding Oblivion. My question really is: Did Bethesda form a pattern of releasing small bits of information before Morrowind and Daggerfall?

If they did, what major changes (if any), caused rabit fan reactions that split into opposing camps so drastically, with passionate defiance and blind acceptance?

If this irrational behaviour is exclusive to the Morrowind -> Oblivion transition, I'm even more baffled.

Disclaimer: I'm not trying to open old wounds here, just trying to understand the historic conflicts regarding TES.
Neela
Welcome to W4O ;)

I really can't say what happened before Daggerfall as I don't remember being on or near the forums much then, but I can tell you it was very similar just prior to Morrowind being released.

I think both camps do know that Oblivion is a noteworthy game, otherwise why would they bother visiting the forums at all?

This is kind of what I think (and I could be completely wrong.. just how I see it.)

I believe the division in thinking is due, in part, to how they perceive the game and its development. The accepters realize that while the fanbase may have much needed input in the project very early on in its development, the developers are ultimately the ones that need to make the game work. Bethesda has a proven track record with the series of making enjoyable RPG's. They trust that this will continue and eagerly await the game. They also are not people who are quick to judge something until all the facts are in and they themselves have played it. Ultimately I think this group will enjoy the game immensely because they are not really looking for the negatives.